Best Size Needle

Hi,

I’ve been practicing Electrolysis for many years, but only on women. My son has asked me to do electrolysis on his unibrow. It is very thick, coarse, and dense. I’d like to know if there is a “best” sized needle to use. I have been using my trusty Berkowits 2200 since 1988.
Thank you!

Janet

The “best” size needle is the needle with the same or bigger diameter as the treated hair.

1 Like

Thank you dimitrov57 for answering my question. I had originally been using a #3M needle for years that I would purchase directly from Berkowits. Then I began purchasing from Texas electrolysis supply, Laurier Tapered 2-Pieced SS .003 Medium. I apologize for asking, but how do I know which # needle would be thicker. I understand from your reply that I would need a bigger needle as the diameter of the hair I am treating is not fine, but thick and coarse.
I appreciate your expertise.
Janet

I am not familiar with those needles, so I can not give you advise. I have different size needles from different manufacturers so I can always chose the best probe for the current case by choosing the diameter of the needle to be the same with the diameter of the hair close to the skin. If you need more information please let me know.
Best. Dimi

The largest diameter needle that will fit the follicle without dimpling the skin during insertion is the best guide. I have used this rule for 40 years in every situation and it has never failed.

1 Like

I know, I use the same rule.

Thank you Hairadicator. I really appreciate your reply. After reading Dimi’s reply, I read up on what he said and found his answer to be correct as yours.
Hairadicator, would you be able to help me figure out the #size needle I should use? I use a Berkowits 2200 machine for thermolysis work. I’ve only used thin needles and now I need to purchase a thicker diameter needle. I have used Laurier but could purchase another brand if you could recommend something to me.
Thank you again,
Janet