Waxing vs. Epilator (for those who've done both)

I’m a guy. I’ve been removing my pubic hair for a while (10 years). I do it because I like how it feels, I like how it looks, and I think it prevents odors after a long day – though I’ve read arguments either way. I shaved for a while and I recently tried waxing for a few months. I waxed myself with the Surgi-Wax Brazilian wax kit. When I waxed I made sure I followed the directions, but I still ended up with ingrown hairs and bumps. I had 5 or so seriously ingrown hairs per waxing, and a lot of hairs that had trouble breaking the surface of the skin (20 or 30) that I needed to help out with tweezers. I applied Tend-Skin and I exfoliated daily. The ingrown hairs usually took about 3 weeks to be able to get out with tweezers and left a red spot for another week, and a dark blemish on the skin for another three weeks or so. Not cool. In the end I decided that shaving every day and dealing with stubble looked / felt / made me feel better than waxing and having ingrown hairs, red bumps, and blemishes.

I want something longer-lasting than waxing, but with fewer ingrown hairs.

Judging from the length of most of the problem hairs, I think the problem hairs were broken instead of pulled out. I’m thinking of buying a rotary epilator in the hopes that it will result in fewer broken hairs, fewer red bumps, and fewer ingrown hairs.

I have light-ish skin with thick, dark hair. The hair is normally pretty dense, but since I waxed for a while, it’s a bit sparser than normal. I’d say that now it’s average density.

So, here’s my question for ladies and gentlemen who have removed their pubic hair both via waxing and epilation for more than a few uses: Does epilation result in fewer broken hairs / bumps / ingrown hairs than waxing?

• EmB

Hi EMB,

Maybe your question should be - does epilation results better than shaving? (not sure though)