USA Electrolysis Schools

Hi everyone,

Im very keen to become a professional electrologist. Not just for diy purposes. Ive sat on this for years and the desire hasnt gone away. Im now just older and greyer!

I would be a complete beginner (in New Zealand) with no experience other then being a patient myself. Im wondering whether to book in for an online course and then head over to do the practical side of it. Is it going to be enough though? Can you really learn enough doing it this way to consider setting up in business? It seems just too basic and short to me and I dont want to waste my time/money and be away from my family if its just not really possible. I would try and sit in on some other electrologists on my return or possibly work for one of them for a bit to gather more experience as well.

If I go ahead, at this stage Im thinking the Dectro school. I would buy one of their machines while I was over there.

For the professionals already … what do you think? 5 weeks practical learning? Is it possible at all to do a good job with this little learning? I like to do things properly and I keep thinking that I wouldnt like to go to someone myself that only had been doing it for five weeks. Hmmm.

Thanks in advance

Is 5 weeks enough learning? Yes and no.

I did my course in 3 weeks and I felt like I wasn’t really going to learn anything more at school whether I stayed another 2 weeks or another 6 months.

It wasn’t until I was out on my own practicing before I really started to learn what I needed to know. A large portion of that came from what I learned from the people that participate here (many of whom I’ve talked to privately as well).

School was actually hindering me from becoming a better electrologist by not letting me use effective settings, setting low expectations for results, etc. We didn’t do any consults or anything at the school I went to either.