Topical Erythromycin

Hi all,

As you can see from my other post I’m just starting out with electrolysis on the face! Found a brilliant electrologist who if close to where I live and biae registered! Had 10 minutes test patch and recovered well I think!

I’m constantly doing research on the Internet and I’ve seen on a few transgendered sites that they reccomend topical Erythromycin which I’m sure you are all aware of is an antibiotic. They say it aids greatly with recovery and lessens any reactions to the electrolysis?

Anyone have any knowledge, observations or experience of this? I can get access to it no problems, but would have thought it would have been mentioned here more if worthwhile???

Thanks

Mark

Hi Mark,

I don’t know anything about this but imo you don’t need anything like this for the work you are doing.

I would think this is something clients which who are removing a lot of hair (whole beard) and quickly would be looking into.

Temporary redness and swelling is something expected and normal and you need to ride it out.

My gut is telling me a topical antibiotic isn’t going to help with that, or scabs if you are prone to develop them.

I now know a number of people who are or have been regular clients with the same electrologist and except one, no one else seems to scab with her blend treatments. And to be honest, there is nothing wrong even if you do, it’s just undesirable for some clients. When my sister started with her, we wanted to clear up her eyebrow region asap so opted for thermolysis, knowing we could expect some pin point scabbing, which did turn out to be the case. It wasn’t a big deal and the hair came off quickly and then she could switch to blend.

As always stoppit … Thanks for your help!

I could be wrong about that, so let’s wait for the HairTell electrologists.

I think if you are having a lot of work done in a short period, a topical antibiotic or a similar cream will help to prevent infection, which can be important.