SXB Machine & Switched Needle Holder

Hi,

Im pretty new to electrolysis and bought an SXB machine recently, i dont have a foot switch with it but it did come with a kit which has a switched needle holder with a black button. I have been testing the machine using the manual provided, the timer doesnt seem to change when i press the black button on the needle holder, but when i place the exposed metal chuck on the electrode the green light shows?

I tried testing the switched needle holder but not sure how to exactly?? Where do i place the exposed metal chuck, is it the top right hand side of the SXB machine which holds the needle??
And since the green light comes on when i place the needle holder on the electrode, doesnt this mean the needle holder is working and black button?

Im not sure if i should just get a footswitch then test the machine and current and will this help with the timer to move and beep when the current is flowing because with the switched needle holder neither is happening and the woman i bought the machine from stated that the SXB machine was serviced and working fine!??

Any advice or tips and are there any videos or instructions to test the machine using only the switched needle holder without the footswitch?

Thanks.

Hi,

I also have a used SXB for DIY purposes. Mine did come with a footswitch and unswitched needle holder. I also bought a new switched needle holder.

I noticed that the timer does not go off when using the switched needle holder. The timer only goes off when using the footswitch and unswitched needle holder.

I found this online:
http://training.sterex.com/Section6.aspx

See the section on diathermy with a switched needle holder - final point states “Remember that the timer is disconnected so you will need to time yourself”.

I’ve found that it is easier to use a foot pedal so may be worth you investing in one anyway. I think they cost around £30.