Sugaring Knowledge

Greetings all,

I’m new here, but I only made this account to share what I have learned thus far about sugaring. (I would have otherwise posted anonymously).

I have been sugaring for about 3 months now (the past 1.5 months non-stop)

This will be a long one so bear with me. (no pun) :stuck_out_tongue:

Making It:

I found several sugaring recipes online, and most seem to amount to the same thing, boiling sugar water. The amount of water you start with doesn’t seem to be important, so long as it can dissolve (solubility goes up with temperature anyways).

I usually boil 2 cups of brown sugar in 1/4 cup of water. The last ingredient is lemon juice, and I usually use about 8 table spoons. I have never tried making it without lemon juice, and rarely payed attention to exactly how much I put.

That said, all 5 yields produced roughly the same physical properties.

The boiling process takes about 20 min on high, I don’t really pay attention much so start watching it after 15 min of a strong boil.

YOU NEED:
a candy thermometer
a glass of cold water.
non-metal container (ice cream container) (don’t eat too much ice cream just to get one!)

After about 20 min, I found that you can see the change into the softball stage on the thermometer, right between 213 and 216F the temperature rate of increase slows down to a stop (then continues). Taking the mixture off heat at that temperature simply will not do. So here are the steps I usually go through:

• check temperature is within approximate softball stage
  • take the mixture off heat
  • dip your spoon in (watch to not get splashed)
  • let a few drops of candy fall into the glass of water
  • empty the water in your sink
  • with your finger grab the candy from the bottom

I found if it was mailable like play dough, it was ready. BUT at room temperature it will be rather hard the next day, and you’ll most definitely need to heat it up in the microwave before use. (we’ll get to this)