Success with One-Touch / Clean-and-Easy Electrolysis with Foot Sponge Modification

Hi everyone! I am posting this because I was looking for information when I got this device and couldn’t find as much info as I’d have liked, so maybe this will help someone else in the future.

Before I go into detail: I am not a professional or even an expert, but I do think this device works and I feel I am making really good progress. I used to use the machine to treat 15+ hairs every couple days, and I now (a couple months on) treat a few hairs per week.

However, it’s like buttering bread with a machete - it’ll work, but you have to be careful.

So, I wouldn’t recommend it outright and would recommend starting with professional electrolysis. I had tried the One-Touch about 15 years ago and found it impossible to use and gave up, and pursued competent, professional electrolysis for years, but was still experiencing continual regrowth on my chin and throat (which I don’t think is the hairs growing back, but vellus hairs turning terminal over time.) Between COVID restrictions, the ongoing expense, the time commitment, and the feelings of dejection, and the fact that I was nevertheless dealing with a finite number of hairs that I could see and reach, I decided to give DIY another go.

What I found impossible about using this machine in the past was:
The probes always bent, and I was spending more on new probes than I would have on professional electrolysis.
Remedy: Use tweezers to straighten small kinks, and change the insertion angle to deal with large bends in the probe. Can’t believe that didn’t occur to me the first time around. I am still using the first probe that came with the machine.

Scarring and damage. I had to burn the crap out of the follicle to get the hairs to release.
The scarring is no longer visible, but it wasn’t a great scene at the time.