Starting out with SX-T

Hi, I’m trying to get hold of equipment to learn DIY electrolysis on a really tight budget so for the last few months I’ve been watching Ebay for any good machines at a good price. I was looking at getting a Sterex SX-B so I would have the blend option to learn on but auctions for these machines kept going well out of my spend limit.

I’ve been having successful thermolysis treatment with these machines from professional electrologists over the last three years, so I know this is an effective modality for me. A Sterex SX-T just came up on Ebay for a bargain price so I’ve gone ahead and made the purchase.

I know its mostly advised to learn using blend first as there is more room for error when you’re learning but I’m wondering if its going to be impossible for me to learn with straight thermolysis? As I say, I have a lot of experience with receiving this treatment (on body and face) and can often recognise from the sensation whether a hair is going to release properly. I’ve watched the electrologist doing insertions on the body and have a good idea of what settings will work (I’ll obviously start at the lowest settings and work my way up as I’m learning though).

My plan is to spend the next month educating myself with textbooks and youtube and try to get my insertions to a good standard before I start working with current. I’ll probably start on my toes and legs but the intention is to work on the stomach, bikini, nipple and underarm areas once I get good enough.

I may eventually sign up to do a course at a local electrology school as I think this could be a really good career for me if I take to the technique well, but this isn’t an option financially right now.

My questions are have any other DIYers been able to learn starting out with thermolysis and what are the pitfalls I should be looking out for? Is Michael Bono’s Blend book a good educational guide for someone starting out with thermolysis only?