Reduced Finger Hair

Hello , I noticed that my finger hair has reduced dramatically lately and I was wondering if the rest of my body hair might do the same. Do any of you think that might happen? Btw I didn’t have laser done on my fingers.

Hi Maybelle,

I hope you dont mind, but I took a few moments to review your post history because I didnt feel there was enough information to really determine what your concern is or what exactly you were asking. So I got a bit of a feel for for the basis behiind your question so it didnt get ignored and left with no answer ( which it has for a day now).

It’s actually a question I dont think there are any firm answers to so I want to begin by saying I am not a medical professional, these are just my opinions based on what I know of hair growth patterns and behaviour.

The appearance of “somewhat lesser hair” on your fingers could be echoed in your body hairs. It’s a bit of an illusion to be honest . In transpeople who are male to female , its often noticed that in 3-4 years after they begin hormone therapy body hair seems to “thin” to almost female levels. The hair doesnt actually die, there is no mechanism that kills the germination cells in the follicle, but it does thin the diameter of the hair, and in many cases lighten in color so it is less noticeable and perhaps grow somewhat more slowly. An anogen hair will always produce another anogen hair but if the hormonal balance has changed it can have this effect of lightening and thinning in diameter, giving the illusion of there being less of it. When I started in my own HRT, I had thick as nails dark colored hair, and now 3+ years later, my body hair appears more like that of a female, than a hairy guy. and I expect this will continue .