Question about laser

I have read that laser does not work for everyone and sometimes it can even make the hair worse.
What I am wondering is if I will be able to tell if the laser is working well for me after only one treatment.
I need to take multiple treatments with intervals of specific time in between treatments for the best results right? So will there be time to see how well it is working in between the 1st and 2nd treatment or will I just have to risk multiple treatments before I see results?

what is your situation? you didn’t provide any details and there are too many variables to give you a yes/no answer.

m/f? what area? what skin/hair type?

Hello thanks for replying. I am male. The area is my back/shoulders. I am white and have brown hair. It’s fairly dark on my back. I’m not an expert but I’m guessing my skin type is Fitzpatrick III, but I guess it could be II. Maybe IV but not likely.

is the hair sparse or dense, fine or coarse?

I guess it’s pretty dense, I mean it’s not like a beard or anything, but it’s definitely not just a few hairs here and there. It’s coarse near the top and finer lower down.

you can treat the more coarse hair, but the finer hair might be better treated with electrolysis. how many hairs are we talking about? high fluences would need to be used with an alex laser for good results.

Well I guess it is pretty dense… I took a photograph since I figured that would be easier than me trying to explain.
http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h239/asdh988f/535463.jpg

yes, pictures are great. thanks for that. the back and shoulders are pretty coarse. i would use an alex laser at high settings for those areas. your upper arms have more fine and sparse hairs, so I would only let the tech go as far down as when the most dense and coarse hair ends on your shoulder/upper arm area and get the rest of those fine ones with electrolysis.