Post Laser Hair Removal - Help!!

I went today to have laser hair removal done on my chest and stomach. I have had probably about 10-12 treatments over the past two years. All with no problems whatsoever.

Today, however, I went to a new place (because I’ve recently relocated) and it didn’t go as smoothly as normal. I have red burns/discoloration all over. This has never happened before. I’ve attached a picture so you all can see what I mean.

I’m worried that they will cause permanent damage or pigmentation. Any ideas on what I should do?

Hello - I wouldnt like to comment on what this is! I’m no expert but it doesnt look permanent to me - it looks just like the skin irritation experience when I epilate. Maybe put some aloe vera on to help soothe it?

It looks like a superficial burn, i.e. settings too high for your skin type. You should bring this up with the clinic. It’s not permanent, but may take several months to go away for good.

Contact the clinic about proper aftercare. You should treat it as you would other burns.

p.s. 10-12 treatments is a lot. What’s your goal? How coarse is the remaining hair? Laser can’t remove 100%. You may be wasting money at this point.

Thanks for the quick replies!

I had the procedure at 10:30am today. When I got home I slathered on aloe vera and kept cold washcloths on it for about two hours. I decided to go back to the clinic at about 2:00.

The RN said that they aren’t burns, but rather slight pigmentation. She called them octopus feet. I asked her if they would be permanent and she said no, but they may take some time to fade. She gave me some Bio-Cream from NeoCutis (bio-restorative skin cream with PSP, anti-aging, post-procedure) and told me to apply it as often as possible (up to six times a day) and that should help lift the pigmentation out faster.