Plucking chin hair

Hi, I’m new to this forum. I’m in my mid twenties and am East Indian. I have a problem with hair on my chin, which I have been plucking out for the past 2 years. I pluck every 5-6 days, but am getting little bumps and feel like the skin on my chin has a different consistency than on other parts of my face. I do not want to shave, use other forms of epiliation, or get electrolysis. I was considering laser hair removal for a long time, but am worried because of the adverse effects that I have read about, including scarring and hyperpigmentation. I want to start plucking less, but the hair grows back so quickly and I am very self conscious and feel like this problem is affecting my relationships. Please help me find a more permanent solution. Thanks!

A warm welcome to you, coffee,and perhaps we can help you sort this out. I would just like to start off by asking you question if you don’t mind:

Why is electrolysis not an option for you?

Dee

Hey Dee,

Electrolysis is too painful from what I’ve heard, and I feel like I’d get quicker results with laser, and I’m scared of scarring with both potential treatments (laser and electrolysis).

You’d be really delighted and surprised at how tolerable and quick electrolysis can be if you find a reputable electrologist in your community to tackle those chin hairs. Why don’t you get some consultations and sample some work, but first read hairtell posts so you get a feel for the process. It’s really not a pokey-dokey process if you go to a skilled electrologist with decent speed.

Laser is not without pain. Many have reported that it hurts a lot. Laser may not get all the hairs if there are any lighter hairs mixed with the darker ones. If you have darker skin, there have been reports of hair being stimulated in some people with darker skin on the face. Will that happen to you? I certainly hope not, but you should at least know that could happen, even though it is considered rare.