Please HELP Laser Hair Removal for Legs

My appointment is this weekend and I found a place I feel comfortable using but I’ve never tried any type of hair removal before other than shaving. The more I think about doing this treatment, the more skeptical I’m becoming. First there’s the price, which is pretty high so I really want to get my money’s worth. Secondly, I’m starting to question whether this is the right method for me (I’m asian with black hair and fairly light skin in the winter time). Also, is it wise to have both legs in entirety done in one day? Or will the pain and complications get me? Please help!

Zinny: What kind of laser are they using? With your skin type (did they give you a Fitzpatrick rating?) and dark hair, you should have good results. I am concerned about your statement regarding complications (pain is subjective - I’ve had all of my treatments without any analgesia, but everyone is different). There should be NO complications if the right machine and settings are used. If you are at all unsure, call them up and ask more questions - it’s your right to do that, after all it’s your money and skin they are dealing with. Let us know what they say. ciao!

They said that they are using the Diode laser, which they also claim to be the only type approved by the FDA to permanently remove hair. Now, from what I’ve seen on these boards is that there is no such thing. Is it true that it’s just reduction that I could hope for?

I had the diode used on my legs twice now. The first session didn’t go so well (I got burned), but that was 6 months ago and the burns have healed.

http://www.geocities.com/vulpresults/