overwhelmed and not knowing where to turn! advice?

i have just spent the last hour or so reading posts here, and am finding myself more confused than ever. here’s my “hair history”:

i am a 28 year old female with medium colored skin (caucasian). i have dark brown (head) hair and semi-dark features. i have some italian in my background. don’t know about my hormone levels. i have most of my hair problems on my face, but other areas like my abdomen are problematic, too.

i started having facial hair problems around puberty. i had a few hairs here and there. i now have hair (dark, coarse) on my chin, cheeks, neck and jawline. also have a moustache, but it’s not as dark. years ago, i bleached. i also tried electrolysis in the early 90s (didn’t have too many treatments - under 10, i would guess). i then went to using creams (they were murder on my skin) and now pluck on an almost-daily basis. i had laser treatments (ruby laser) in 1999 about every four weeks for 12 months. NOTHING has reduced or permanently removed my hair. NOTHING. it seems like i am having more of a facial hair problem as the years go by.

i have decided to again try laser electrology. i have an appointment scheduled with someone here locally (quad cities iowa/illinois area) and they will be using a dode apex 800 laser. since i’ve had NO LUCK with anything before, i am wondering if this too will be a waste of my time. each treatment of my entire face will cost $250, and i am expecting to have at least 4-5 treatments. the more i read about electrolysis, i am wondering if this is the way to go.

money is an issue, but i would gladly pay almost any price if i knew i could get permanent results. so, here are my questions for anyone who’s willing to answer them:

1. has anyone had treatments with the diode apex 800 machine? if so, please describe your hair problem, # of treatments and long term results.