Newbie questions

Hi,

I’m considering buying a home electrolysis kit and I thought I’d run past you experts a couple of the kits I was considering.

1)Beautiko Electrolysis Pen (with patches)

2)Beautiko Home Electrolysis Hair Removal System (I think this one has stylet tips and tweezers)

3)Babyliss Electrolysis Depilation Kit Model 8365

What do you think of those? Are they going to produce permanent results? Is there another one I should go for instead?

Also, how feasible is it to perform electrolysis on yourself? My manual dexterity is good (even though I’m a guy!) - I’m a biomedical scientist, and much of my work involves using very fine sutures and needles, so I think I should be alright there, and I have good vision. I’m also quite handy with both hands, though not fully ambidexterous.

I plan on doing my shoulders, it’s the only hairy part of me that I don’t like…at least for now!

I understand the needle/stylet systems are superior to other claims like pads and the like…can someone confirm this?

That’s a lot of questions, so I’ll stop there!

Thanks for your time.

[ January 30, 2003, 12:46 PM: Message edited by: Max ]

Confirmation: superior is not the correct phrase: needle systems work, pads and patches don’t. It’s that black and white.

You need to see the hair follicle and angle very clearly, so doing your own shoulders (except for maybe the front area) could be very difficult.

Thanks for the confirmation :smile:

Do you know where I could get a good needle electrolysis kit by mail order in the UK? Is there one that is markedly better than the others? I’ve heard a lot about the One Touch system - can you get that in the UK without having to ship it over from the US?

Your best bet is to try to buy a used professional unit, and have some one else learn how to do it, and perhaps trade service on each other. There are few places one can really “do it yourself, to yourself.”