Newbie here.....Test Patch?

Hi everyone,
I recently decided to remove the unwanted hair on my upper lip and chin, possibly full face. I’m leaning more towards laser and have been to a few consultations. I printed out the list of questions from hair facts. In conducting my research on the internet, I learned that I should have a test patch done prior to treatment. I had one office tell me they would do a test patch on the back of the neck!?! Is this normal for a test patch area? And shouldn’t the hair removal center perform a test patch on the area that you are seeking treatment?
[color:“blue”] [/color]

Thanks,

what is your skin and hair type? coarse or fine hair? yes, they should do a test patch on the area you want treated. please give us more information to determine if laser is right for you, and if yes, which one.

The face is way too visible an area for experimentation. A test patch on the face is downright reckless. A test patch on the back of the neck would be difficult/impossible for you to evaluate closely. You would not be able to see fine regrowth as well using mirrors to allow veiwing. Franky, I would be suspicious.

Seriously, seriously consider electrolysis on that area, as lasers can promote more active growth of fine hairs and can backfire on even the most ideal candidates. You don’t want to do anything you would regret for years.

Mantaray

My skin type is fair complextion and hair type is course, light brown, mostly dark colored. I am seeking laser because I was told the electrolisis is mostly for fine hair. In which mine isn’t, nor it it minimal. I have a lot, mostly course under the chin. There are so many different lasers and I am confused as which one should be used on me.

I had one consult tell me they wouldn’t perform a test patch because I would be a good candidate. Is that normal practices?

Also, would I be considered as Type III?

Thanks