Need peer opinions, please.

I don’t post here often but I am the only electrologist in my area and don’t have a peer group to run these experiences by for helpful input. First, I am a newbie electrologist; recent EINE grad and have been working in my own practice for almost a year now. I’ve had a lot of success so far and my clients have been very happy. Recently, however, I have two new clients that I am experiencing difficulty with.

Both are middle-aged (50s) African-American women with coarse black and white chin hairs, both with a tendency toward hyper-pigmentation and keloids. I chose the blend method on both clients (which I’ve had a lot of success with in the past) but it seems that no matter how I adjust the settings, I have a very difficult time getting the hair to release. The hair follicles are both naturally distorted and more so from years of plucking. The highest I have put the settings with the most difficult of these two clients was 102 units of lye (which seems very high to me) and I still had to treat some of the gray hairs 2 times before getting it to release (and still some tugging).

Is this normal or am I doubting my talent and abilities for good cause? Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

ETA that I use an Apilus Senior II.

What needle type and size are you using?
Try to use the thickest needle possible.
More sodium hydroxide is produced when the thicker probes can be used.

What timing are you using?

Keep in mind that the micropictographs that we have been able to see over the years show us that although hair can be curly as it lays on the surface of the skin, in the follicle, the hairs are merely slightly cocked. You need not have to resort to blend but lets start trouble-shooting with what you are most comfortable with for now.

I have been using a size 3 gold Ballet probe. I may be able to use a 4 and will try that next time. Timing is between 12 and 14 seconds at between 62 - 68 milliamperes.