Laser vs. Electrolysis

I was wondering if anyone well educated in dermatology or hair removal methods has any insights into this seemingly never ending debate. I am not a doctor or anything of the like, but here is my logic.

A big part of me is beginning to lean towards laser (at least for thick dark hair). My main concern is skin damage. Although the long term effects of laser are unknown, the short term seems to have no ill effects (when done properly). Both laser and thermolysis kill hair by heating the follicle to the point of destruction. So unless I’m missing something, the method of killing is the same, it’s just the delivery that varies: a needle or a laser. Here is why I am leaning towards laser. With a laser, the heat is only absorbed by dark colors, which would be the hairs. With electrolysis on the other hand, first off it’s not guaranteed that the electrologist always hits the mark, but mainly, the heat put off by the needle is not only absorbed by the hair follicle, but also by the skin tissue that the needle is also touching. It just seems that due to the nature of the laser, the hairs are better targeted, and I would suspect (based on logic, not any scientific findings or anything) that this would result in a higher kill rate as well as less skin damage.

I’ve had both laser and electrolysis with limited results on both so far (although I am 1 month past my 2nd laser treatment and am still waiting to report any personal results/conclusions from that and I admit that my electrolysis schedule has been far from regular, so I mostly blame my lack of results on myself).

One thing that really confuses me is the discussion over whether laser really works and if electrolysis is the only real permanent hair removal method. Again, if they both heat up the follicle to the point of destruction, why wouldn’t they both have similar results? I’m not arguing this, but rather inquiring.