Laser vs Electrolysis - Please advice

Hi everyone :grin:

Andrea, I’m impressed by this site and I admire the afforts you put into it. I think you’re helping a lot of people, not only within the USA, but all over the world.
James W. Walker, I’ll strongly appreciate it if you’ll help me with some of my following questions, your tips are always helpful.
I’d like to get responses also from laser professionals.
The more responses I’ll get to my post (from any member here), the more happy :smile: I’ll be.
As to me, I’m a 24/male student (soon to be 25) from Asia. For many years now I can’t feel comfortable on the beach or in the pool, so I’ve decided to take care of my unwanted hair. I’d like to get rid of the hair I got on my back and shoulders. I have light skin and dark hair on those areas.
I have some important questions:

1. First of, I see many youngsters around here, even younger than me, who’d like to get rid of body hair. Well, my hair is still growing on my back and shoulders, so why does 20 years old guys already getting it taking care of?
    Do I have to wait until it stops growing (I’m almost 25…)? How long should I wait?
    I’ve talked to a M.D. (skin) in some laser place, and she told me that I can start laser treatment, because anyway I’m going to lose the hair I already got, and if something new will grow, they’ll treat it too. She also said that the laser damages also hair follicles which don’t have visible growth right now, and because of that any new hair growing on my back in the future (in those places on my back I haven’t got hair before) won’t be as thick as the hair I’ve got today, so maybe I won’t even need to treat it. --> My question about that is first of all: Is what she said true? And also, How long after I start the treatment should they continue taking care of new hair? (2,4,5 years? - I guess there’s a limit)