laser - should you quit while you're ahead?

Hi guys,

Just a quick one really. I’ve had three out of a course of six laser treatments so far on my underarms. The results are good (to be expected since the hair was dark and coarse), and now although there is still some hair left, it’s very fine and wispy.

The question is should I continue with the last three treatments now that the hair there is so fine? I’ve had some horrible experiences with laser on my body encouraging hair growth because I treated hair that was too fine… I don’t want to reverse the good effects I’ve now achieved on my underarms!

Any and all tips welcome.

Thanks!

how much time has passed since your last treatment? I find it hard to believe you’re this far after only 3 treatments.

Hi Tealight,

I have the same question as Johnson.

In any case, wait at least 12 weeks before you decide if you need another treatment or not. It’s not too late to have a treatment at that stage.

If the hair, or most of it, is still fine and wispy, don’t bother with another treatment. I think it’s highly unlikely that you will experience induced growth on the underarms but unless the hair is coarse, it won’t respond to further Laser.

When I stopped my underarm treatments and waited a sufficient amount of time to judge what was left. I’d say I still had about 20% hair remaining which was a mix of fine and medium-coarse. I had already had six treatments but even thought there was still hair that would respond it made more sense to finish up with electrolysis that would be able to remove every remaining hair, not just the coarse ones.

I haven’t had a regular schedule of underarm work, just random clearances. The last one being with Josefa in September. But even then, I’m practically hair free. Just a few random ones that I don’t think were present when I was with Josefa.