Laser hair removal VS electrolysis

I’m thinking of getting some kind of permanent hair removal done and I’m undecided between laser or electolysis. Here’s the deal: my NATURAL hair color is dirty blonde and my skin is so very light (I’ve never tanned in my whole life - I always burn). Also, I am a university student and don’t have all that much money to throw away. I want to get my eyebrows done, as well as my bikini line.

I know that in order to get my eyebrows done, I would have to go with electrolysis, as most LHR clinics do not go near the eye area (and as if I’d let them!). But for my bikini area, there’s not much to be taken off. I just want it groomed. Forever.

Just wondering if anyone had tried both electrolysis and laser, and which they prefer… Please keep in mind that I am on a budget. Thanks!!! :confused:

Welcome, Melanie!

You should not do laser near your eyes. I’d definitely do electrolysis there.

If your hair along the bikini line is light in color, you won’t have much luck with electrolysis there.

Here’s some tips to improve electro effectiveness on the bikini area (and to avoid unnecessary pain):

1. Use a topical anesthetic like ELA-Max or EMLA. You can read about them in pain reduction tips.

2. Wax the area first and have the electrologist get the hairs as they come back in. They’re easier to kill then.

3. This area can definitely hurt for some people. Be sure to look into all the pain reduction options if you find this area uncomfortable to treat (I sure do!).

Thank you Andrea for such a quick reply… I’m still wondering if I should go for laser or electrolysis? I’ve read up on laser (thanks to your site!) and it seems to still be in the development stage…
Which is more effective? With which one will I see better/faster results?
Any feedback is appreciated!

Laser is past the development stage-- there haven’t been any significant technological improvements in a while.