Itching

OK - I’m extremely new to epilating… I’ve been doing it for about a month and I still haven’t gotten totally smooth on my legs. It seems like a lot of the hair ends up getting broken off all the time and turns into red ‘bumps’ with a white top to them - they kinda look like tiny pimples, but I know they’re not. I’ve gotten some very minor infections too at first, but I’ve been able to avoid any new ones now, with the help of reading this great forum.

I’ve been using a homemade ‘tend skin’ formula for this as well as the obvious ingrowns and it definitely seem to be helping… I’ll notice an ingrown that’s about ready to come out and after only a couple hours after applying my alcohol-aspirin formula, I notice that the hair is freed and I can then pick it out with a sterilized tweezer. I have to pick it out VERY slowly though(I kinda have to pull it tight and wait for it to release itself), because these seemingly ‘first-generation’ hairs seem to have a very, VERY STRONG root in my skin. If I pull too fast they almost invariably break.

ANYHOO - my main question is that I’ve been epilating on my legs for a little over a month now… I can be at home in my boxers(I’m a 36yo single hetero male) and not have TOO much itching, but when I put pants on to go out - well, that’s a whole 'nother story. It wasn’t all that bad when I first started, but it seems to be getting worse now…

Is this just a ‘break in’ period - will it go away?? If so, is there anything I can use that is VERY cheap and doesn’t smell in any way?

Thanks for any help on this itching problem. I’d also like to open up discussion on epilating in general. Note though that I’m not near a point where I want permanent removal yet.

Really - nobody has had a problem with itching after epilating - or even shaving?

I’m looking for a low-cost and non-smelly solution to the itching problem…
(Sorry for the original post above, I can be a little long-winded sometimes. :sleep: )

Thanks.