Is this acceptable over treatment?

Hi all,

I’m new to this forum and I’m new to thermolysis. I switched from an electrologist who was doing blend to someone who specializes in thermolysis. This is a picture of the treated area about 2 days after treatment.

Is this an acceptable amount of over treatment for beard hairs that had previously been treated with blend?

Should I continue with this electrologist, find a different electrologist, or stop thermolysis altogether?

Thanks in advance!

p.s., I think she may have had poor probe activation control. I often heard it beep when she wasn’t inserted. I don’t know how much that matters, but I wonder if she was activating it too close to the surface of the skin.

I personally would prefer to see less scabbing but this isn’t out of the realm of normal after effects. Don’t pick and be diligent with sunscreen and gentle skincare.

As far as beeping goes, I accidentally step on my pedal while adjusting my seating position quite a few times per session while I’m safely holding the probe away from the client. Your electrologist could be doing the same.

If they are expressing the current too close to the surface repeatedly you’d see many white blanches immediately post treatment and likely quite a bit of oozing of fluid immediately post treatment.

I have been hoping for such a photo … thanks.

This is the type of post-op situation that Dr. Schuster (dermatology) highlighted. As you can see in the photo, the treatment scabs “line-up.” When contiguous follicles are treated “in a line” there is a potential for later developing a crease … usually vertical (as you are showing).