Is cataphoresis necessary after thermolysis?

I hate the metallic taste left in my mouth. I’ve been reading the forums
and it sounds like it is only helpful if I am having blend or galvanic.
She said she is using thermolysis and I am not holding anything until the
cataphoresis part where I hold a metal rod attached to the machine with
a wire so I am pretty sure it’s thermolysis.
THank you.

I got this done too after thermolysis. But only from one person. Everyone else i’ve been to has not done it. I wonder why.

I’m a blend operator and basically never do cataphoresis following electrolysis. Absolutely no benefit if patients have had local: the local completely negates post-op swelling, i.e., local with epi. However, some benefit to select post-op plastic surgery patients, e.g., edema from blepharoplasty.

I believe any benefit from cataphoresis is only immediate and temporary. (I don’t like the metallic taste either! Yuck!)

Here’s a fun experiment (if your electrologist will do it for you). Have her place the cataphoresis electrode near your eye. With the current on, have her rapidly touch “on and off” the electrode to the skin. With your eyes shut, you will see a tiny flash of light! The on-off stream of electrons stimulates the optic nerve; you’ll see a flash of light. It’s a harmless phenomenon.

Overall, my opinion is that cataphoresis is a waste of time.

Does anyone know if the cataphoresis process helps stop the formation of
scabbing? Scabbing has been very minimal and I wonder if it is because
of the cataphoresis or is it done to minimize swelling?
Thank you.

I never do cataphoresis and scabbing is not a problem with my clients when it comes to facial work. Bodywork scabbing is pinpoint to none.