Insurance question

Hi all-

Hope it’s alright to post here. I’m new to the forums but not new to the hair struggle.

Currently, I’m a college student suffering from hirsutism and trichotillomania. I have quite a bit of scarring as a result and haven’t gone outside with bare legs in years.

In 2019, my dermatologist and therapist worked together to recommend that insurance cover laser hair removal for me. Unfortunately, the process was never finalized because I was in an accident and had to focus on my recovery.

I will soon be aging out of my parents insurance (1.5 years until then) so desperately want to get my treatment covered before then. Has anyone had any success with insurance? I have BCBS if that helps. Even if it didn’t work for you, I’d greatly appreciate any suggestions.

I’m hoping that insurance will consider this medically necessary because I have two hair-related conditions, a history of debilitating anxiety, and have been in treatment for my mental health for years without success. I’ve also had to get help from my dermatologist a few times when my hair removal efforts removed a lot of my skin as well.

If anyone has any thoughts, I’d be extremely grateful!!

If there are stated provisions in the insurance contract your parents hold, then maybe you can get that assistance? I hope someone with a similar situation can help you, however, you need to be a good candidate for laser hair reduction - dark, dense coarse hair on pale skin, in order to get a certain percentage of hairs gone.

The lower legs respond better than most parts of the upper thighs. You will still need electrolysis, permanent hair removal, to treat hairs not “seen” by laser. Electrolysis can “see” any hair structure, on any color of skin for any color of hair.