ingrown hairs/electrolysis

I went for electrolysis about 8 years ago and then quit after two years and not getting much results. So for the last 8 years I have been tweezing, and I hate it, it leaves red bumps and lots of ingrown hairs. I am thinking of going back to electrolysis, can they work on the areas where there are ingrown hairs also? I started shaving instead but it leaves red bumps and it grows back by the end of the day.

If you go to a electrologist shaving would probably be a better idea because they like to treat the hairs that are in the growing stage. By shaving you assuring they are in that stage. Tweezing will probably distort the follicle and make it more difficult to treat but Andrea could correct me if I’m wrong since I am not an expert. I had hairs treated from my chin although I had never removed them before. It took several times before I have the hair permanently destroyed and after I moved on to my second electro. I believe this was because they were not in the growing stage so shaving would probably be more effective. You may also try to treat a small section at a time. For instance the day of treatment leave a section unshaved so that the electrologist will be able to remove those hairs. When they do not return move on to others. It is very important to shop for an electrologist who has experience and is willing to answer questions. I’m on my third one now and the first one just plucked and didn’t have a clue, the machine was from the dark ages and she didn’t use disposable probes and used a kitchen timer she would forget to turn on and cut my time from 15 mins to 10 mins. When I asked why she didn’t work longer she said she didn’t see any hair and I did. Who knew!, The seond one worked on me an hour at a time, what happened the hairs justed appeared! I’m still learning. Electro 2 and 3 I using at the same time to determine who to go with.

Hi Shel–