Inexpensive Chinese High-Power IPL Device for DIY

Hi, I am an engineer who really likes big lasers, and I bought one of these to experiment with. http://tinyurl.com/bdceunxk
I also was very interested in its hair removal efficacy because I have tried a small handheld IPL flasher in the past with little results. I am fairly pale and have very dark hair so it should have been pretty effective, but my impression is a majority of these handheld devices are very weak and not meant for real hair removal. Not only is the large device more powerful, but it can also flash up to 10x per second due to having an enormous capacitor powering the flashlamp, which cuts down the time needed in a session by an order of magnitude. It also has very good cooling, with the flashlamp window staying at low 40s to 50F even after 30 min of operation. However, due to its power, it is certainly an eye damage risk. I am using some expensive laser goggles to operate this. But overall, the results are really good. I have about a 30% reduction in terminal hair growth in dense areas after 3 2-week spaced sessions. I’d like to hear what some professionals think about this if they would like to chip in. Have other people tried to use similar devices for DIY removal? For me the total cost of this whole operation was around what you would pay for a handheld flasher, so it could be a good option for people on a budget.

I don’t know what IPL you are using, but according to the research, treatments should be done every 8 to 10 weeks for the body areas and faces every 4 weeks with a high end medical laser. It would be impossible to get a 30% reduction of terminal hair in 6 weeks. Your hair grows in cycles. You are doing what we call laser shaving.