I am new to waxing

Hi,

I am new to the idea of using waxing cream for hair removal. Earlier I I had been using the easier way out, using the creams. But thats a lot of mess and re-growth is so instant.

I am not sure if waxing would suit me. Can someone please guide me with its pros and cons.

Thanks!

Regards,
Ayesha

Pro:
#1: Can be smooth for up to 8 weeks, much slower regrowth than depilatory creams and shaving
#2: After several sessions the hair appears to grows through sparser and finer (this is not permanent).
#3: It is said that pain reduces with the number of treatments as you skin gets used to the sensation and so on.
#4: If done professionally or at home with some skill, is a lot less messy than depilatory creams.

Con:
#1: Painful (may begin to diminish after some treatments)
#2: Cannot go on sun bed for 24-48 hours
#3: Removes small amounts of tan
#4: Hair can break off and not be completley removed (this does depend, however, on the thickness and number of hairs you are trying to remove in a given area, we are talking a LOT of thick, coarse hairs for this to happen though)
#5: If used on certain areas, such as the face, waxing can make the hair stronger, thicker and darker (run a search on the forum for more information on this)
#6: Can be expensive if done at salon (depends on the geographical area)
#7: Requires some skill when done at home and can result in the treatment being more painful and an increase in mess (although home treatments are a lot cheaper when you start to get the hang of it)
8#: Can cause ingrowns (this can be kept at bay with careful exfoliating with either lofahs, exfoliating gloves etc and/or chemical exfoliators such as TendSkin)
#9: Have to wait for the hairs to grow between 1/4 and 1/2 inch before can be waxed.

Waxing is probabaly my favourite temporairy method personally as it lasts the longest and is not as bad as using a rotary epilator.