How many joules?

Hi, there.

I am new to LHR but have learned a great deal from this site (thanks). Since I am checking out possible practitioners, I went recently for a consultation and test patch on my back. I have light skin and dark hair (probably a Type II)
The technician (an RN) tried some different settings but as I was not feeling any pain and she wasn’t seeing redness eventually had the Lightsheer set at about 22 joules. (The pain was still negligable at that setting.)

However, from some other postings here I’ve heard people talk about much higher settings, like 48 Joules. I realize this will vary depending on the person and skin type, but is 22 way too low to show results? I don’t want them to go way too low on me, resulting in many extra treatments needed over time.

What is a likely joule setting range for someone who is Type II?

Also, do you have any recommendations for someone good in the LA area?

Many thanks.

I am a type IV and have beent reated with the Lightsheer ET. I have had great results and have been treated at 45J. I had one treatment with a substitute technician at 28J which was totally ineffective. You have to be aggressive with the Lightsheer so having a qualified technician is very important.

Since you are a type II you may be able to handle 50 or more Joules. In my opinion 22J is way too low. I would bet that most of the people who are ideal candidates and have had poor results with lasers have probably been treated at too low of a fluence level.

Like I said before, the Lightsheer rules!

RJC2001

Hello am345