How do i use Emla cream for it to be effective in an Electrolysis session

Hello

I usually avoid anything that is painful but not having hair on the face permanently is beyond a dream.

So i decided to go for electrolysis but I find it painful, despite applying Emla cream before every session.

In the last session I applied it the way i googled it but it still was not affective, or maybe it did work but it would have been worse if i haven’t applied any cream, i don’t know.

What i did in my last session was, i applied a generous amount of the cream then covered it with the plaster thing that comes with the small Emla Cream tubes an hour and a half before the session.

So my question is How do i properly apply Emla Cream for it to be effective for my session to be painless?

My question above is my main question but here is my journey with unwanted facial hair, optional

Just incase it isn’t obvious i am a woman.

I have been threading my upper lip and chin area everyday for 17 years until i decided go for electrolysis in June this year. The hair on my upper lip and chin is thick and it drives me crazy. So far i have gone to more sessions in two months than recommended. I am tempted to thread between sessions.

There is only one electrolysis centre in my city that i trust and it is always fully booked -_- so for the first time ever i shaved the upper lip and the hair grew even thicker!! maybe it is in my head because google says hair doesn’t come back thicker if shaved. so i actually booked an appointment with another centre because the one i go to is always fully booked. But then later i regretted going because they kept on pushing me to do laser instead, and they wanted me to buy many sessions in advance, the session was more painful and the swelling was worse and i had hair growing back the next day which was so annoying. I am definitely not shaving again ill just put up with a few hairs on my upper lip until my next session.