How do I avoid pitting?

Hello! I recently joined this forum and this is my first post.

I’ve just started electrolysis and I’m extremely concerned about pitting and scarring. Here’s some background information about me to help you understand my particular case.

I’m a 32 y/o cis female with thick dark hairs on my face and also my arms and legs. The facial hair is the worst…the hairs are extremely thick… more thick than my leg hair. I’ve been tweezing my facial hair for 17 years and it has gotten thicker/darker/etc. over time. If I were to tweeze all the noticeable hairs on my face it would take me about an hour and a half to remove all of them. I’ve been tweezing daily for at least 10 years. Before that I’d tweeze every few days or something.

I read that tweezing can actually cause a lot of damage. And that it can raise the chances of pitting after electrolysis?

Is pitting inevitable for me? Can I avoid it? If so what steps can I take?

I’m in the process of finding a good electrolygist. I’ve had 2 electrolysis sessions…one with one practitioner and one with another. I decided to get a patch test done on each arm because pitting or scarring on my arms is much less depressing than on my face. I’m essentially trying out these electrolygists to see if I can trust them to not damage my skin.

This seems very tricky though as I’ve read that it can take a full year before scarring or pitting will even show up. Would my best bet be to get a very small patch test done on my face and wait an entire year?

What advice do you have and what would you do in my shoes?

Thanks in advance your your replies. I deeply appreciate them.

Can you link us to where you saw this information?

I don’t agree that tweezing can cause a lot of damage. Tweezing does not raise the chances of pitting after electrolysis. Tweezing coarse hairs over and over again can strengthen the hair if the blood supply gets more robust.