Help please! Electrolysis post

Hi everyone!
I am new to this group so please help me if I am doing something wrong here !
So- I’ve been doing electrolysis for 3 years now (neck) I do go regularly 2-3 weeks for 15 min sessions!
I’m totally okay with this- I feel like I have seen results however no before pictures sadly!
Recently I have been struggling with the appearance of my skin and others have even made comments which is so hurtful and I’m getting very self conscious over this. Here is a picture 1 week post treatment- is this normal to look like this ??
How can I help my skin appearance in between, does my skin need a break, etc.

Thank you so much in advance !

What instructions were you given for aftercare? Have you told your concerns to your electrologist. She may be able to change probes or modality or even the recipe to reduce some of the skin manifestations.

It is possible to remove hair and not have these kind of side effects. You just have to communicate and hope that your practitioner has some other strategies up her sleeve.

There are the rare few clients that have more reactive skin, but honestly, it all heals nicely, regardless. It is worth trying different things to see if these temporary side effects can be tamed somewhat. If she basically says suck it up and you have the choice to see some other local area talent, then give it go to compare.

What modality of electrolysis is he or she using? Blend? Thermolysis? Galvanic?

Honestly, it’s hard to tell from the photos, but that looks like pitting to me. Thats more common with UNDERTREATMENT than it is overtreatment ( strands of wound collogen build up in the repeatedly treated follicle). It’s also consistent with the time frame ( 15 minutes a week for 3 years). If the hairs were not being undertreated, they would be gone by now.

1 Like

Thank you!
I should have mention that I have been pregnant 3 times during this process lol… so I think she said that does effect what one she can use ?