Hair grows slower but just as thick

I’ve been receiving electrolysis on my chin for 7-8 months. I’ve been going every 3 weeks and felt like gradual progress was maybe being made because the thick hairs would only start growing back in starting on week 3 instead of week 2.

A few weeks ago I had to go 6 weeks between appointments and by week 5 the hair had all grown back just as thick and dense as it looked before my first ever electrolysis session. Does a delay in hair growth time signify that it’s working, even if it still eventually grows back in just as thick? Or should I keep an eye out over the next few months to make sure there’s a reduction?

Thanks!

Were you given explanation about hair cycles? Was concept of clearances discussed? The information you provided isn’t sufficient to measure your progress. You said you went for treatments every 3 weeks for 8 months now. Were you getting complete clearances in all treatment areas every 3 weeks?

The electrologist just told me it can take more time to see results. I do get the area cleared in 15-20 minutes each time. It started off taking 25-30 minutes per clearance when I first began 8 months ago.

After around 8 months of treatments, each session is spaced further apart and each treatment is taking almost half the time it used to. This should be a pretty clear indication that you’re making progress.

It’s taking longer for the hair to grow back as dense and thick as before because of hair growth cycles. I don’t think it’s actually as dense and thick as it was. In my experience, clients fixate on the hair that remains so it’s hard for them to notice a reduction.