girl in need of advice

I am a girl with hair on my upper lip.
I bleach it, so it’s a little less noticable… but whenever I look in the mirror, I see it. It may be blonde now, but it’s still very visible to me. The problem frustrates me, and I have only confided in one person about my hatred for it. She told me I was over-reacting and that it wasn’t noticeable unless someone is staring intently at my upper lip while I’m standing directly under a light.
But I still see it, I still hate it, and now I don’t even want to look into a mirror while there is any kind of light nearby. I get very concious about how close people are to me, because I don’t want anyone else to see it…
I don’t know what to do. I’m a new college student so I don’t have much money… and I don’t want to start waxing it because then I’ll have to do it constantly, and I’ve heard that it causes the problem to worsen anyway.
I’ve done a lot of looking around online to find SOME WAY of ridding myself of this problem but I’m not having any luck. Does ANYONE know what I can do? Ignoring it isn’t working anymore… I’m at the end of my rope.
Please help…

Hi pixxel–

Sorry to hear this is causing you unhappiness. Remember that many other women are dealing with the same problem.

If bleaching isn’t cutting it, the cheapest option is plucking. You might also try wax. It’s won’t make the problem worse, although you will have little red bumps for maybe half a day, and you’ll have to make sure you don’t get ingrowns as it comes back.

Since you say you don’t have much money right now, the permanent options for reducing hair might be too much.

It sounds like you don’t have a lot of hair, so I’d give plucking waxing a shot for starters and see what you think.

This is an old post (I’m catching up) but I just wanted to throw in that it doesn’t matter to some guys. Especially those who are themselves a bit furry. Bleaching is fine, and waxing might help, but don’t worry too much about it.