First time electrolysis on chin- is this healing normal?

Hiya!
I received electrolysis for the first time on Monday, a 30 minute session on my skin. I have sensitive, spot prone skins so I tend to not get too worried if I have reactions to skin treatments but this seems a bit much? My initial after care was just using a gentle cleanser for the first two days and now it’s scabbing I’ve been adding moisturiser. The person who did my treatment recommended this healing balm thing to me but it has a bunch of different oils in it that in the past have not reacted well with me (example coconut oil). So I haven’t used it. I’m in south east queensland, Australia if that’s relevant.

Sorry poor quality images. Top is day of treatment, bottom is 4 days after.

Thank you for taking the time to read

Im not a professional, though this is over treatment. Dont touch the skin again until it has healed. Dont get electrolysis in this area again. Dont go the same electrologist.

1 Like

As the person above wrote, this is overtreatment. The fluid leaking from your skin after the treatment is plasma, which is a clear indication of overtreatment. In addition to that, widespread scabbing from facial treatment is not acceptable. The fact that they are large scabs and connected is concerning.

There is no such thing as sensitive skin in the electrolysis world. There are acceptable reactions and unacceptable reactions, and this is unacceptable and completely avoidable.

Continue with your gentle skincare routine. Moisturiser is fine, but avoid anything that will exfoliate or dry your skin out. Do not rub or pick at the scabs. Since you live in a sunnier part of Australia, take extreme care to limit sun exposure and wear 50+ SPF when staying out of the sun is not possible.