EMLA vs. pain pills

Right now for the pain I am taking Ultram pills during my appiontments. I have been doing this for a year or so and my doctor seems to be getting a little leary as to why I need these pills for so long, as they can be addicting.

I don’t even really like to take them, except for the pain relief they give me during my appointments. I am considering trying something like EMLA. I have read up about it on this site but was wondering if anyone could share their experinces with this product during their appt.'s or how the pain relief from EMLA compares to taking a Ultram. Is ther still a lot of noticable pain?

what area are you getting treated?

I have no experience with Ultram so I can’t compare. I used emla on my upper lip and chin and couldn’t have tolerated the thermolysis treatments without it. It worked fine for me. I’d put it on 30 mins before an appt, sometimes I also covered the area with plastic wrap (it’s supposed to enhance absorption). For my upper lip, I’d sometimes put the emla on an hour before. I got about 20-30 mins pain relief on the upper lip, which was fine because we’d never work more than that. I wasn’t 100% numb, like you get from novocaine, but it made the treatments totally tolerable.

hope this helps,
susie

I am covering large areas on my thighs. My appiontments last an hour each. Does the EMLA last this long?