Embarrassing...

Hey everyone!
I am new to this forum, and so glad I found it!
I am 22 years old, and about a year ago, I began growing thick, dark hair on my chin and upper lip. It drives me crazy! I pluck and wax constantly, but am convinced this is going to be a battle I will never win. I am afraid to get close to people, and have not formed intimate relationships with anyone for fear of the embarrassment you probably know all too well. I am a college student, so I really dont have the funds to contribute toward electrolysis or laser hair removal (unless I max out my credit card!) However, I found a practitioner in my area who claims to offer 1 year unlimited laser treatments (chin) for only $600. I’m thinking to check him out. Does anyone hav any pre-treatment tips? I mean, am I supposed to let the hair grw before going in? Because, if that’s the case, I dont know if I could handle it. I’m way too self-conscious to let it grow for even ONE day! I need some help, though, because I am going away in 3 weeks, and I’d really like to do something about this before I go! I’ll be spending lots of time outdoors, and you all know how sunlight makes every hair noticable! Also, I’ll be spending time with a certain someone I haven’t seen in a while, and I don’t want to be uncomfortable and worrying every second that he may be spotting some unsightly hair on my face! You all understand. Can anyone help me?

I would say to call him first to see how long he wants you to grow your hair.
I’ve heard some people say their laser practitioners shave the area v.close. Others prefer a little bit of ‘stubble’…

Also, you might want to ask him to do a test patch first, on an area that won’t show - say underneath your chin. I found that after my laser treatment, my skin would go a darker shade of brown in the treated area, and what hairs I had turned v.thick and black. It got better after a few days, and when the hairs fell out it was wonderful. But it was v.embarassing until then!