Electrolysis Scarring - With Pictures

I have been doing electrolysis for last 10+ years. In the last year I have noticed pitting and scarring.

For about 7 years I did Thermolysis and last 3 years I have been doing Blend. The pitting and scarring have occured in the last year or so.

The last 3 years I went to another electrologist who has been doing electrolysis for the last 20+ years and she appears competent and professional.

This has happened only on the upper lip and chin area. The side burns seem perfectly fine.

I have stopped electrolysis since about 5 weeks and these pictures are from last night.

• What are my options to fix this problem?
  • Will these fade over time?
  • Do I need to get some procedure done to fix it?

Here are some pictures

Hi Juniper,

the healing process is not finished until your treatment is finished for 18 months.At 5 weeks post last treatment it’s nowhere near done.So my primary advice, would first to be to wait out that period.
I’m a bit mystified by how this all can appear within the last year, when you’ve been treated for that year by the same electrologist for 2 years prior to that with no issues?

If you look at michaels video series “the healing skin” it talks about how pitting like that can happen through the healing process, and how it resolves. I highly recommend you review it:

Mostly, you just have to wait out the healing process before you will know anything about any scarring ( of wich there could be none).
I know I beat up my chin pretty badly when I did it with blend, extremely overreating some follicles. Looked like it had been beat up too. It’s all resolved.

Seana

Hi Seana,

I am a bit puzzled too. Few reasons I can think of, I might have done more treatments in the last year with her, I am getting older (37) so I believe my skin is not as it used to be & I also started using makeup in the last 18 months which I never used to earlier!