Does this look like a good machine?

Hi,

Could anyone tell me if this looks like a good deal?
https://www.complexions.co.uk/product/sterex-sxb-blend-electrolysis-machine/

I’m just starting out, aiming to DIY my face as I can’t physically go to a clinic and there aren’t any mobile therapists in my area. I won’t be working on anyone else. I’m in the UK.

I’ve been studying Michael Bono’s The Blend Method, plus some general reading and videos online. I’m not quite ready to have a go for real yet but just started looking for machines to get a feel for what’s around and saw this second hand (older model) Sterex SXB for £500. It comes with a one year warranty plus needle holder and lead, indifference electrode and lead, foot pedal and some Sterex needles. It seems like that sort of offer might not come up very often, so I’m wondering if I should buy it now anyway.

I’ve seen the SXB recommended on this forum but don’t really know what I’m looking at - any advice would be much appreciated.

Sterex is a known brand in UK/Europe. You won’t go wrong with a basic blend machine like this. Contact the seller and clarify if this machine allows you independent controls over DC and HF or is this a single pedal machine where you need to preset both HF and DC settings?

1 Like

Thank you, that’s helpful. I had wondered about only having one pedal but didn’t know if I was just not understanding how it worked. I will ask them.

You’re looking at a very old model of the SX-B. It comes pre-serviced and with a warranty, but I don’t think you’ll have any major issues in the future. It’s a very basic machine from a very reliable brand. I would question the supplier on how easy it is to replace the indifferent electrode, the prober holder lead and the foot pedal if ever necessary. If this model of SX-B fits with the current model’s attachments, then you’re fine since these parts are very easily sourced.