Close Shave???

I’ve been shaving for more than 2 months now (getting IPL done) my upper lip and chin. For the last month or so I’ve been really having trouble with my chin. I shave my upper lip twice a week but ahve to do the chin every day. The hair grows back in 12 hours and I’m just not able to get a close shave. Even after shaving there is still a stubble. The hair is really hard and course and thick.

I’m using a Gillete Fusion razor with I think 4-5 blades. I have tried lots of others. The disposable ones are the worst. Most lady shavers aren’t that great either. This one seemed good in the beginning but now I’'m just not able to get rid of that bit of a stubble (not even with a brand new blade).

I use a shaving gel. I.e. it looks like a gel but then starts foaming when I spread it out.

I shave as soon as I come out of the shower. I normally shave against the growth of hair. Is that ok?

Any advice? How can Ig et a closer shave???

people will tell you to shave with the grain as it can cause rashes and ingrown hairs if you go against the grain, although i too shave against purely because if i dont it doesnt even look like ive had a shave.

Most important thing is preperations, hot water soap and a buffer usually works well. Also i would recommend King of Shaves shaving gel, it wont foam up and you can see where your shaving. I have tried many many gels and this is by far the best.

I shave everyday and it really hurts but ive learnt to live with it now.

Hi Chris, thanks very much for your reply. What is a buffer? And when do you use soap? Do you mean I should clean the area first with hot water and soap and then apply the shaving gel? I shave immediately after showering so that should be fine.

I’m sorry shaving hurts you every day. For me, it doesn’t really seem to trouble my skin that much but I’m just not able to get rid of that stubble, even with a new blade.

Hi,