Beyond the Selectif Pro – viability of ultrasound

I’ve been pondering this for a couple years, and I want to act on it now.

What I’ve been pondering is the failure of the Applisonix Selectif Pro device. When I first saw it, I thought it was a brilliant idea (in part because it was something that had kind of been brewing in the back of my brain for a while). In fact, researching it is was what brought me to hairtell in the first place.

Obviously it wasn’t that brilliant but it left me wondering “why?” - it should have worked. Dee Fahey posted a link to an article from a critic, who was trying to explain why it shouldn’t work but actually further convinced me that it should have worked.

Since hair is an electrical insulator, the comment is true of electricity (which includes radio frequency), but the properties of “very strong and elastic” are exactly the properties that make something a very good conductor of sound (or ultrasound) energy. The critics phrase “and even less ultrasound” simply reveals a lack of understanding, of the difference between electrical energy and ultrasound energy.