After care with electrolysis

Hello and Merry Christmas, I’m new to the board and from the UK. It’s nice to visit a forum that can talk about hair removal openly, it’s all a bit taboo in Britian. What I wanted to ask was what happens to skin once electrolysis has been performed? I’ve recently had it on the fluffy whiskers that stick out around my mouth and chin area, and it seems to leave a red indented mark in some areas from where the hair’s been taken out. Is this normal and will it heal? I need re-assurance as I’m a bit of a worrier! Thanks.

Hi- I have had electrolysis on my face and body. My experience has been that after a half hour, no marks remain on my face. I think this is because the setting for the face is so low. On my body however, I must deal with little red marks that turn into scabs.
I am not an expert, but it seems that marks on the face are not necessary. That said, rest assured that the marks will fade- after 2 weeks you should see dramatic improvement and then further improvement from there.

Thanks for the reply, but it’s actually the pores that I’m concerned with. They seem a lot bigger and tend to look like small pitted areas. Will they shrink with time? I’m very conscious of my skin and have been down for quite some time, suffering from severe acne as a child and now this darned hair! It’s like a never ending depressive cycle. I’m 26 and never go out, I feel like I’m wasting my life because of these silly little fine hairs. Does anyone feel the same? People say ‘you’ve got nothing there’, but I know I have as some relatives have said ‘well, actually you’ve got a few…’. It’s extremely frustrating, I just hope there’s some light at the end of the tunnel!