11+ FULL BEARD TREATMENTS @ American Laser Center

Fitzpatrick II, dark course hair.
24 yo, white male.
American Laser Center, NYC/Westchester.
Aurora 9 treatments, Comet 2 treatments.
“Opted for laser hair removal so I’d never have to shave again . . .”
Main complaint: Patchiness and Regrowth

I’ve been undergoing treatment since Fall of 2004 (1.5 years now). I’ve had eleven treatments; most on Aurora; the last two on Comet. I find the treatments very painful on both, but always experience moderate hair loss in patches 3-4 later. The hair loss from the Comet seems to last longer, permanently I hope!

The patchiness is especially noticeable around chin and upper lip where there is still course dark hair. Not many course hairs left on my cheeks, but patchiness can be seen in that area when looking up close. I intend to give my treatments another six months before giving up.

I really dont see the reasoning behind the 6-7 week interval. After each treatment the hair clearly falls out in patches the size of the laser head. Other hairs continue to grow until the next treatment.

Also, if the hair stopped growing after six weeks I’d never be able to grow a long beard, which I have done several times in my life. The beard hair is not like arm hair or eyelashes that only grows to a certain length, rest, and fall out. Beard hair is like the hair on my head and continues to grow for years before going into the resting phase. The technicians at my center don’t have a clue about this and aren’t even aware of how the laser actually works. I never got to see a doctor at any point in my initial consultation or treatments.

I also get post treatment irritation and zits. I wish I never did this treatment. I’ll continue only to reduce the patchiness . . .

I really dont see the reasoning behind the 6-7 week interval. After each treatment the hair clearly falls out in patches the size of the laser head. Other hairs continue to grow until the next treatment.